MICCAI 2017 - Quebec, Canada

MICCAI Society "Enduring Impact Award" 2017

The MICCAI Society Enduring Impact Award for 2017 was awarded to Professor Jim Duncan of Yale University.  Jim has an outstanding record of research achievements and leadership of the community; he was President of the MICCAI Society from 2007 to 2013, and is one of the founding co-editors of the journal Medical Image Analysis. 

Awarded to Jim Duncan

  • 1ST degree B.S.E.E. , Lafayette College, 1973
  • Masters in Engineering, UCLA, 1975
  • PhD in Image Processing USC 1982
  • Early Academic career at Yale 1973-
  • Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Diagnostic Radiology and Electrical Engineering, Yale

The photograph shows (left to right): Wiro Niessen (Society President); Alex Popovich (Ultrasound and Interventions Research Lead for Philips Research, presenting the Award on behalf of Philips who sponsor the Award); the 2017 winner Jim Duncan; and Alan Colchester (Enduring Impact Award Co-ordinator)

Medical Image Analysis Best Paper Award 2017

Elsevier MedIA Prize 2016 awarded to:

Qi Dou, Lequan Yu, Hao Chen, Yueming Jin, Xin Yang, Jing Qin, Pheng-Ann Heng

For their paper entitled: 3D Deeply Supervised Network for Automated Segmentation of Volumetric Medical Images, Medical Image Analysis, Volume 41, pages 40-54.

Young Scientist Publication Impact Award 2017

Kitware Inc, Young Scientist Publication Impact Awarded to:

Dr. Angel Alfonso Cruz-Roa from MICCAI 2013

Paper entitle "A Deep Learning Architecture for Image Representation, Visual Interpretability and Automated Basal-Cell Carcinoma Cancer Detection”, Cruz-Roa AA, Arevalo Ovalle JE, Madabhushi A, González Osorio FA. Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá, Colombia

  • Extends the visual interpretability for machine learning models using latent semantics analysis in order to open the "black box" of data-driven models.
  • Builds upon their previous publications at MICCAI 2012 and featured in over 30 subsequent publications. Impacted deep learning in histopathology images.
  • Launched a successful career at Universidad de los Llanos, Villavicencio, Colombia

MICCAI Society Young Scientist Awards 2017

The MICCAI Society Young Scientist Awards honour early career scientists who have made an exceptional scientific contribution to this year¹s conference. The five 2017 winners, listed alphabetically (there is no ranking) are:
The recipients of 2017 are:

Florin-Cristian Ghesu, paper entitle “Robust Multi-Scale Anatomical Landmark Detection in Incomplete 3D-CT Data”

Sasan Matinfar, paper entitle “Surgical Soundtracks”

Mehraveh Salehi, paper entitle “A Submodular Approach to Create Individualized Parcellations of the Human Brain”

Ryutaro Tanno, paper entitle “Bayesian Image Quality Transfer with CNNs: Exploring Uncertainty in dMRI Super-Resolution”

Wufeng Xue, paper entitle “Full Quantification of Left Ventricle via Deep Multitask Learning Network Respecting Intra- and Inter-Task Relatedness”




The IJCARS journal has selected and published a special issue with six papers that are extended versions of papers that were presented at the MICCAI 2016 conference. The IJCARS MICCAI 2016 Special Issue is , Volume 12, Issue 8, pp 1243-1318, September 2016. The Guest editors are Sebastien Ourselin, Mert R. Sabuncu, William Wells, Leo Joskowicz, Gozde Unal, and Andreas Maier who selected the best and runner up papers for the award by majority vote (those with authorship conflicts abstained from voting

IJCARS MICCAI 2016 Special Issue Best Paper Awarded to:

Shekoofeh Azizi, Sharareh Bayat, Pingkun Yan, Amir Tahmasebi, Guy Nir, Jin Tae Kwak, Sheng Xu, Storey Wilson, Kenneth A. Iczkowski, M. Scott Lucia, Larry Goldenberg, Septimiu E. Salcudean, Peter A. Pinto, Bradford Wood, Purang Abolmaesumi, Parvin Mousavi

Paper entitle: “Detection and grading of prostate cancer using temporal enhanced ultrasound: combining deep neural networks and tissue mimicking simulations”

Runner up:

Christine Tanner, Barbara Flach, Céline Eggenberger, Oliver Mattausch, Michael Bajka, Orcun Goksel

Paper entitle: “Consistent reconstruction of 4D fetal heart ultrasound images to cope with fetal motion”

Travel Awards 2017

Abhijit Guha Roy

TUM, Ludwig Maximilian University

Achille Teillac


Adam Harrison

National Institutes of Health

Alireza Mehrtash

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Andrew Doyle

McGill University

Andrew Jesson

Imagia Cybernetics Inc

Antonio Porras

Children's National Health System

Babak Samari

McGill University

Benjamin Aubert


Benjamin Gutierrez Becker

Ludwig Maximilian University

Charley Gros


Christoph Jud

University of Basel

Cosmas Mwikirize

Rutgers University

Dmitry Petrov

Imaging Genetics Center, USC

Ehsan Adeli

University of North Carolina

Emran Mohammad Abu Anas

University of British Columbia

Esther Puyol Anton

King's College of London

Fabio Carrillo

Laboratory for Orthopaedic Biomechanics, ETH Zurich

Fatemeh Taheri  Dezaki

The University of British Columbia

Florin-Cristian Ghesu

Siemens Healthineers / Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg

Francois Parent

Polytechnique Montreal

Hennadii Madan

University of Ljubljana

Hristina Uzunova

Institute of Medical Informatics, University of Lübeck, Germany

Jacob Antunes

Case Western Reserve University

Jana Hutter

King's College London

Jiri Borovec

Czech Technical University in Prague

Jose Dolz


Kathleen Moriarty

Simon Fraser University

Konstantin Dmitriev

Stony Brook University

Kwame Kutten

Johns Hopkins University

Mahendra Khened

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras

Mariana Pinheiro Bento

University of Calgary; University of Campinas (Brazil)

Marta Bianca Maria Ranzini

University College London

Mehraveh Salehi

Yale University

Nitin Kumar

IIT Bombay

Philipp Stefan

Technische Universität München

Philippe Poulin

Université de Sherbrooke

Pramod Pisharady

CMRR, University of Minnesota

Prasanna Parvathaneni

Vanderbilt University

Robert Robinson

Imperial College London

Ryutaro Tanno

University College London

Sarah Parisot

Imperial College London

Sasan Matinfar

Technical University of Munich

Seok-Jun Hong

MNI, McGill University

Shusil Dangi

Rochester Institute of Technology

Wenfeng Xia

University College London

Wufeng Xue

University of Western Ontario

Xiaohuan Cao

Northwstern Polytechnical University & The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Yao Xiao

University of Florida

Yoon, Jee Seok

Korea University

Youngjin Yoo

University of British Columbia

Yuyin Zhou

The Johns Hopkins University